Synchronization occurs when two internal BGP routers have exchanged BGP routing information and share the same view of a network. A BGP router will only share information with another BGP router if both routers have learned about the same networks via an internal routing protocol, such as RIP or OSPF. BGP Synchronization will stop creating routing black holes, which can occur when BGP routers do not have a path to a network. By default, synchronization is enabled on Cisco routers. You can disable synchronization by using the no synchronization IOS command.
Was this article helpful?