QoS for Converged Networks

There are three basic steps involved in implementing QoS on a network:

Step 1 Identify traffic and its requirements. Study the network to determine the type of traffic running on the network and then determine the QoS requirements for the different types of traffic.

Step 2 Group the traffic into classes with similar QoS requirements. In the example, four classes of traffic can be defined: voice, high priority, low priority, and browser.

Step 3 Define QoS policies that will meet the QoS requirements for each traffic class.

Example: Three Steps to Implementing QoS on a Network

In a typical network, voice will always require absolute minimal delay. Some data associated with key applications will require very low delay (transaction-based data used in airline reservations or online banking applications). Other types of data can tolerate a great deal of delay (file transfers and e-mail). Nonbusiness network surfing can also be delayed or even prohibited.

A one-to-one mapping between traffic classes and QoS policies need not be made. For example, three QoS policies could be implemented to meet the requirements of the four traffic classes defined above:

■ NoDelay: Assign to voice traffic

■ BestService: Assign to high-priority traffic

■ Whenever: Assign to both the low-priority and browser traffic

Was this article helpful?

0 0

Post a comment