Trust and Identity Management Technologies

Some of the many technologies used for trust and identity management include the following:

■ ACLs: Lists maintained by network devices such as routers, switches, and firewalls to control access through the device. An example is an ACL on a router that specifies which clients, based on their IP addresses, can connect to a critical server in the data center.

■ Firewall: A device designed to permit or deny network traffic based on certain characteristics, such as source address, destination address, protocol, port number, and application. The firewall enforces the access and authorization policy in the network by specifying which connections are permitted or denied between security perimeters.

■ NAC: A set of technologies and solutions that uses the network infrastructure to enforce security policy compliance on all devices trying to access network computing resources, thereby limiting damage from emerging security threats.

■ IEEE 802.1X: An IEEE standard for media-level access control, providing the ability to permit or deny network connectivity, control VLAN access, and apply traffic policy based on user or device identity.

■ Cisco Identity-Based Networking Services (IBNS): An integrated solution combining several Cisco products that offer authentication, access control, and user policies to secure network connectivity and resources.

The following sections provide more information about some of these technologies.

Was this article helpful?

0 0
Project Management Made Easy

Project Management Made Easy

What you need to know about… Project Management Made Easy! Project management consists of more than just a large building project and can encompass small projects as well. No matter what the size of your project, you need to have some sort of project management. How you manage your project has everything to do with its outcome.

Get My Free Ebook

Post a comment