In this chapter, you learned about modularizing the network, with a focus on the following topics:

■ The hierarchical network model's three layers: access, distribution, and core

■ The Cisco SONA framework that integrates the enterprise-wide network

■ The Cisco Enterprise Architecture functional areas:

— Enterprise Campus: Including the Campus Infrastructure module (composed of the Campus Core layer, the Building Distribution layer, and the Building Access layer) and the Server farm module

— Enterprise Edge: Including the E-commerce module, the Internet Connectivity module, the Remote Access and VPN module, and the WAN and MAN and Site-to-Site VPN module

— Service Provider: Including the Internet Service Provider module, the PSTN module, and the Frame Relay/ATM module

— Enterprise Branch

— Enterprise Data Center

— Enterprise Teleworker

■ The infrastructure services and application networking services used within the Cisco Enterprise Architecture modules

■ Security services to protect network resources and users from internal and external threats

■ High-availability services to ensure adequate connectivity for mission-critical applications

■ Voice services to support VoIP and IP telephony

■ Wireless services to support mobile clients connecting to the enterprise network

■ ANS to make the network aware of the content carried across it and to optimally handle that content

■ Network management protocols and features, including SNMP, MIBs, RMON, NetFlow, CDP, and syslog

Was this article helpful?

0 0
Project Management Made Easy

Project Management Made Easy

What you need to know about… Project Management Made Easy! Project management consists of more than just a large building project and can encompass small projects as well. No matter what the size of your project, you need to have some sort of project management. How you manage your project has everything to do with its outcome.

Get My Free Ebook

Post a comment