Key Point

The three functional areas are as follows:

• Enterprise Campus This area contains all the functions required for independent operation within one campus location; it does not provide remote connections. You can have multiple campuses.

• Enterprise Edge This area contains all the functions required for communication between the Enterprise Campus and remote locations, including the Internet, remote employees, other campuses, partners, and so forth.

• Service Provider Edge This functional area is not implemented by the organization; rather, it is included to represent WANs and Internet connections provided by service providers.

Each of these functional areas contains network modules, which in turn can include the hierarchical core, distribution, and access layer functionality.

Figure 1-7 displays the modules within each of these functional areas. The following sections provide details on each of these modules.

Was this article helpful?

0 0

Post a comment